Sunday, September 19, 2021
You are here
Stanbic Uganda Cup winners in 2019; Proline Football Club

The Stanbic Uganda Cup is the second most prestigious competition in Uganda football.

It is played on a knock out basis. This annual competition is open for non-league sides, registered clubs playing in all the five football divisions (Div I, II, III,Iv and V) of  the Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA)

The Uganda Cup was first held in 1971. The current holder is Proline FC.

The winner of the Stanbic Uganda Cup represents Uganda in the CAF Confederation Cup.

Express FC and KCCA FC have won the cup most times (10 each) while SC villa is on 9 cups and URA is on 3 trophies.


L-R: Cathy, Daniel, FUFA President Eng. Moses Magogo, Rogers Byamukama and the FUFA CEO, Edgar Watson passionately hold onto a football after the unveiling ceremony of Stanbic Bank as the Uganda Cup title sponsor

Leading banking company Stanbic Bank Uganda is the Title sponsors of the FUFA Uganda Cup hence taking over the naming rights.

The Competition is now called The Stanbic Uganda Cup.


The 2019/20 Stanbic Uganda Cup was cancelled due to the outbreak of COVID-19. By the time of cancellation, the tournament had reached the Quartefinals.

KCCA FC who had finished as runners-up in the League were selected to represent Uganda in the CAF Confederation Cup.


Proline FC secured their first-ever Uganda Cup Trophy in History after beating Bright Stars FC on Penalties (5-4) following a 1-1 draw in normal time at Masaka recreational grounds on 25th May 2019.

Bright Stars skipper Nelson Senkatuka broke the deadlock in the 47th beating Proline custodian Hassan Matovu from a well-executed free-kick before defender Musitafa Mujuzi levelled in the 90th minute.

Bright Stars custodian Benson Wagima was named best goalkeeper while Proline’s defender Mujuzi took home the MVP and top scores gong with four goals.

  • How Proline reached the finals

They eliminated Light SS in the round of 64 stage at the Star Times Stadium, eliminated Nyamityobora FC at Kakyeeka stadium in the round of 32, Onduparaka in the round of 16 at the Star Times Stadium, Vipers SC in the quarter-finals at the Star Times Stadium and Kyetume FC in the semi-final in spot-kicks at Lugogo following a 3-3 draw after two legs.

  • Proline FC team that played the final

Hassan Matovu (GK), Saka Mpima, Ssekito Hakim, Musitafa Mujuzi, Ibrahim Sendi, Kintu Sam, James Begesa, Ibrahim Wammanah, Bright Anukani, Ivan Bogere, Noordin Bunjo.


Micheal Muhumuza, Emmanuel Asiku, Joseph Mandela, Arnold Sserunjogi, Ibrahim Bonyo, Hakim Kiwanuka, Allan Egaku.

Coach: Shafiq Bisaso.


KCCA FC defeated rivals Vipers SC 1-0 at the Emokori PlayGround in Bukedea district on 09th June 2018 to successfully defend their title which was also their 10th overall.

Winger Julius Poloto header at the stroke of half time was all that the Kasasiro boys needed to deny the Venoms a double.

KCCA FC players Charles Lukwago, Allan Okello and Patrick Henry Kaddu took home the Best goalkeeper, MVP and top scorer (6goals) accolades.

Stanbic Uganda Cup top scorer Patrick Kaddu receives his Hi-Sense Television set from former Uganda Cranes striker Alex Isabirye and current Uganda Cranes forward Emmanuel Arnold Okwi
  • KCCA FC team that played the final

Charles Lukwago (G.K), Filbert Obenchan, Habibu Kavuma, Timothy Dennis Awany, Paul Musamali, Isaac Kirabira, Sadam Ibrahim Juma, Jackson Nunda, Julius Poloto, Allan Okello, Patrick Kaddu


Tom Ikara (G.K), Jamil Malyamungu (G.K), Denis Okot Oola, Eric Ssenjobe, Solomon Okwalinga, Paul Mucureezi, Ibrahim Wannamah.

Coach: Mike Mutebi.

  • KCCA FC road to the finals
  • Round of 64: Mbarara FC 0-4 KCCA FC (Kakyeeka Stadium, Mbarara)
  • Round of 32: Simba 1-2 KCCA FC (Kabanyolo research playground)
  • Round of 16: Soana 2 (3)- 2 (4) KCCA FC (Kavumba)
  • Quarterfinals: Kitara FC 0-1 KCCA FC (Boma play Ground)
  • Semifinals: 1st Leg: Synergy FC 0-1 KCCA FC (Masaka Recreational Ground)
  • 2nd Leg: KCCA FC 8-0 Synergy FC (StarTimes Stadium.)

The Stanbic Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C
1972-1975-Not Held
1976- Gangama F.C
1977- Simba F.C
1978 – Nsambya F.C
1979 – KCC F.C
1980 – KCC F.C
1981 – Coffee F.C
1982 – KCC F.C
1983 – SC Villa F.C
1984 – KCC F.C
1985 – Express F.C
1986 – SC Villa F.C
1987 – KCC F.C
1988 – SC Villa
1989 – SC Villa
1990 – KCC F.C
1991 – Express F.C
1992 – Express F.C
1993 – KCC F.C
1994 – Express F.C
1995 – Express F.C
1996 – UEB S.C
1997 – Express F.C
1998 – SC Villa
1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C
2000 – SC Villa
2001 – Express F.C
2002 – SC Villa
2003 – Express F.C
2004 – KCC F.C
2005 – URA F.C
2006 – Express F.C
2007 – Express F.C
2007/8 – Victors S.C
2008/9 – SC Villa
2009/10 – Victors S.C
2010/11 – Simba S.C
2011/12 – URA F.C
2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University
2013/2014 – URA F.C
2014/2015 – SC Villa Jogoo

2015/2016- Vipers SC

2016/2017-KCCA FC

2018/2019- Proline FC


Vipers SC and SC Villa captains lining up with match officials before the kickoff of the 2nd leg semifinal of Stanbic Uganda Cup at St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende on Tuesday 5th June 2018.