Tuesday, June 6, 2023
You are here
Home > Hippos > AFCON U20 Preparations: Hippos share spoils with Egypt in friendly match

AFCON U20 Preparations: Hippos share spoils with Egypt in friendly match

Uganda Hippos intensified their preparations for the U20 AFCON tournament with a friendly match against host nation Egypt on Monday afternoon at the Military Academy Olympic Stadium, Cairo.

The closely contested clash ended in a one-all draw.

The Hippos looked the brighter side in the early stages of the game with John Paul Dembe and Travis Mutyaba both coming close to scoring.

Hippos continued dominating proceedings thanks to the quartet of Ssematimba, Mugulusi, Mayanja and Irinimbabazi taking charge.

With three minutes to the break, the Hippos launched an enticing attack that was initiated by Ibrahim Juma. Ddembe was at the tail end of the move and he did no mistake to break the deadlock.

However, the lead was short-lived with Egypt finding the equaliser at the stroke of halftime.

Defender Apollo Kagogwe was unlike to direct the ball into his own goal.

The start of second half saw coach Jackson Mayanja introduce Rogers Mugisha, Justin Opiro and Issa Bugembe for Dembe, Lukwago and Ssematimba in that order.

Mutyaba won a free kick for the Hippos right at the edge but Juma effort was dealt with by the opponent’s goalie.

Four minutes past the hour mark, Hippos made another change with Umar Lutalo coming on for Saidi Mayanja.

Bugembe came close to restoring the Hippos lead in the 79th minute but his shot was blocked.

Hippos made more changes in the 80th minute with Hakim Mutebi and Patrick Kakande coming on for Mutyaba and Juma respectively.

The Hippos will relocate to Ismailia on Tuesday where they will play their matches in group B against Central African Republic, Congo Brazaville and South Sudan.

The tournament will take place between 19th to 11th March in Egypt.

Uganda Hippos Starting XI

  1. Abdu Magada (GK), Haruna Lukwago, Ibrahim Juma, Apollo Kakogwe, Rogers Torach, Ivan Irinimbabazi, Saidi Mayanja, Travis Mutyaba, Isma Mugulusi, Titus Ssematimba, John Paul Ddembe


Kamya Shamran, Oyo Delton, Justin Opiro, Umar Lutalo, Ronald Madoi, Patrick Kakande, Roger Mugisha, Issa Bugembe, Shafiq Magogo, Alpha Ssali, Emmanuel Mukisa, Hakim Mutebi, Samson Kasozi, Frank Katongole