Tuesday, June 6, 2023
You are here
Home > Cranes News > Four players join Uganda Cranes camp on Tuesday

Four players join Uganda Cranes camp on Tuesday

Four foreign based players have joined Uganda Cranes camp in Ismailia, Egypt.

Captain Emmanuel Okwi, Farouk Miya, Steven Sserwadda and Isma Mugulusi are the latest players to join the team.

Greece based midfielder Isma Mugulusi.

The quartet arrived in Cairo,Egypt on Tuesday morning and straight away joined the rest of the team at their base (Mecure Hotel) in Ismailia.

Upon arrival, Okwi indicated he is happy to join the team and hoping for good results against Tanzania.

Uganda Cranes captain Emmanuel Okwi

“I’m happy to join the team here in Ismailia and delighted to find that the camp is in good mood as we prepare to face Tanzania,” he started before adding.

“Definitely the target is to get positive results off Tanzania in order to achieve our target of qualifying for AFCON. The players, coaches and everyone is committed towards this.” Okwi added.

They join other foreign based players like Joseph Ochaya, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Fahad Bayo, Jamal Omar Magoola, Gavin Kizito, Abdu Aziizi Kayondo, Richard Basangwa, Steven Mukwala and Timothy Awany who are already in camp.

Midfielder Aucho Khalid will join the camp on Wednesday Morning. However, Scotland based forward Sadat Happy Anaku will not be available for selection in both encounters against Tanzania due to an injury as communicated by his club, Dundee United.

The team will have a build up match against Ismaily SC at Suez Canal Authority Stadium on Tuesday evening (5:00PM EAT).

Uganda will play Tanzania on Friday 24th March at Suez Canal Authority Stadium before the two teams face off again four days later at Benjamin Mkapa National Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

Uganda Cranes Squad

Alionzi Nafian (URA FC, Uganda), Lukwago Charles (St. George, Ethiopia), Magoola Salim Omar (GK) (Richards Bay FC, South Africa)

Torach Rogers (Vipers SC, Uganda), Begisa James Penz (URA FC, Uganda), Mulondo Livingstone (Vipers SC, Uganda), Lwaliwa Halidi (FK Bregalnica, North Macedonia), Semakula Kenneth (SC Villa, Uganda), Kizito Gavin (Al Ittihad Alexandria SC, Egypt), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (CD Leganes, Spain), Awany Timothy (SC Ironi Ashdod, Israel)

Ssentamu Siraje (Vipers SC, Uganda), Okello Allan (KCCA FC, Uganda), Mugisha Rogers (UPDF FC, Uganda), Aucho Khalid (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Byaruhanga Bobosi (Austin FC, USA), Sserwadda Steven (New York Red Bull II, USA), Mugulusi Isma (Makedonikos FC, Greece), Miya Farouk (Caykur Rizerspor, Turkey)

Mato Rogers (KCCA FC, Uganda), Mutyaba Travis (SC Villa, Uganda),Okwi Emmanuel (Erbil SC, Iraq), Ochaya Joseph (Al Makawdoon Al Arab SC, Egypt), Mukwala Steven (Asante Kotoko, Ghana), Bayo Fahad (MFK, Vyskov, Czech Republic), Basangwa Richard (Wadi Degla SC, Egypt)